Not All Americans Are Racist, by Nicole Weaver

american (4)Title: Not All Americans Are Racist

Genre:Nonfiction Essay

Author: Nicole Weaver

Website: www.nicoleweaverbooks.com

Publisher: Nicole Weaver

Purchase on Amazon

SUMMARY: In Not All Americans Are Racist, Nicole Weaver recounts her experiences with racial discrimination and the non-racist white individuals who made it possible for her to attend and finish college. As an immigrant from Port-au-Prince, Haiti, she is thankful for the opportunities America has offered her.

EXCERPT:

I hated saying goodbye to Mrs. Smith. I loved her with all of my heart. She represented all the good America had to offer to its immigrants, even if they were not white. Mrs. Smith saw potential in me that I myself did not see. Back then, I was just a black Caribbean girl thankful to have food to eat and a roof over my head. My mom at the time was single with the responsibility of working two jobs in order to feed and clothe my older siblings and me. I will never forget the day Mrs. Smith called me into her office to give me a pep talk about the importance of going to college. Honestly, I was scared to venture out on my own and go live on campus with people I had never met. Her coaching and encouragement helped me keep the fear at bay. Now, I was eager and ready to start the new chapter in my life as a college student.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

