PREACHING TO THE CORPSE by Roberta Isleib

Title of Book: Preaching to the Corpse
Genre: Murder Mystery
Author: Roberta Isleib
Publisher: Berkley Prime
Date of Release: Dec. 2007
ISBN: 978-0425218372
 

Summary:  

The holidays have arrived in postcard-perfect Guilford, CT, but someone’s taking the joy out of the season… Psychologist/advice columnist Dr. Rebecca Butterman gets a call in the middle of the night from the minister at her church begging for her help. He’s in custody after going to a fellow parishioner’s home and finding her dead. The murdered matron was the leader of a search committee charged with finding a new assistant pastor after the previous assistant left in a rush. Rebecca learns that the committee was divided–has someone tried to eliminate the competition? Rebecca puts her analytical skills to work to do her own search–for a killer–all while resisting the urge to break the seventh commandment with a very married detective, and praying she’s not the next victim.   

Why did you take up writing mysteries, Roberta?

I’ve always read and loved mysteries, starting with the Bobbsey twins, Nancy Drew, and Cherry Ames, the nurse detective. I prefer to read a series where I can return to visit with the same characters many times. So this genre seemed a natural choice when I was thinking about trying to write a novel. It also happens that crime fiction fits well with my other profession, psychotherapy (I’m a clinical psychologist by trade). Both the detective and the therapist star with a problem and follow clues until they unravel its solution. I enjoy the puzzle aspect of mysteries and seeing the bad guys get their due—doesn’t always happen in real life!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Mystery | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “PREACHING TO THE CORPSE by Roberta Isleib

  1. Hey Roberta! I’d read a bit about the book and as a whodunit junkie, thought it sounded fabulous! We share the Nancy Drew/Hardy boys childhood. God, I couldn’t get enough of Nancy and was it George? the chick who broke all barriers by having the boy’s name before the free-loving 60’s? Anywho, I’m getting on my mystery tangent. I do wish you well on your blog tour!

  2. Roberta:

    My first taste of mysteries was the Hardy Boys back in the 1960s. I still remember how excited I’d get when I got a new book. The smell, etc.

  3. You novel sounds suspensive and exciting.

  4. Pingback: Books News » Blog Archive » PREACHING TO THE CORPSE by Roberta Isleib

Leave a Reply

